Adelaide Symphony Orchestra


March 5, 2015


Adelaide Town Hall, Adelaide, Australia

Event Web Site:

Adelaide Symphony Orchestra

An orchestral concert in which Gavin Bryars conducts two works by close personal and musical friends (Howard Skempton and Arvo Pärt); the first performance in the original English of two arias from his third opera G; his meditation on the last musical fragment of Wagner; and a full orchestral performance of Jesus’ Blood Never Failed Me Yet, with additional orchestral material.

Soloists: Anna Fraser, soprano; Alex Knight, bass

Conductor: Gavin Bryars

Part 1

Howard Skempton: Lento (1991) – full orchestra

Bryars: The Porazzi Fragment for 21 solo strings (1999)

Arvo Pärt: If Bach had been a beekeeper  – orchestra

Bryars: Ennelina’s aria from G – Anna Fraser, soprano. World concert premiere (in English)

Bryars: Epilogue from G  – Alex Knight, bass. World concert premiere (in English)

Part 2

Bryars: Jesus’ Blood Never Failed Me Yet  – full orchestra




Gavin Bryars