Gavin Bryars Ensemble Concert


November 6, 2010


Kings Place, London

Event Web Site:

Performance Details

Laude Dolçe no. 1  (2007) for solo cello, electric guitar, double bass 7′

Lauda 29 “O divina virgo flore” (2003) tenor, double bass 3′

Lauda 32 “Omne homo” (2005) tenor, ensemble 3′

Lauda 39 “Magdalena degna da laudare” (2009) – tenor, ensemble 6′


Solos from Irish Madrigals (2004-2007) Petrarch, trans JM Synge 12′

for tenor and ensemble

“He wishes he might die and follow Laura”

“The sight of Laura’s house reminds him of the great happiness he has lost”

“He sends his rhymes to the tomb of Laura to pray her to call him to her”

Lauda Dolçe no. 2 (2007) for solo viola, electric guitar, double bass 5′


– interval –


Morrison Songbook (2010) Blake Morrison 18′ Premiere

for tenor and ensemble



“All the homely arts and crafts”

“Almond Tree”

“In April”

“The print of soles”

“Just As The Ash-Glow”

Lauda: The Flower of Friendship (2009) electric guitar, viola, cello and bass 12′


John Potter (tenor); Morgan Goff (viola), Nick Cooper (cello); James Woodrow (electric guitar); Gavin Bryars (double bass)





Gavin Bryars