Sonant Ensemble/ Gavin Bryars Ensemble at Testbed1


May 26, 2011


Testbed1, 33 Parkgate Street, Battersea, London SW11 4NP

Event Web Site:

Sonant Ensemble + Gavin Bryars Ensemble

The Gavin Bryars Ensemble will collaborate with Sonant Ensemble, founded by Gavin’s daughter Orlanda Bryars, in a special one-off concert at Testbed1 on Thursday 26th May 2011, 7.30pm. The architect Will Alsop, an old friend of Gavin’s, has set up Testbed1 to be a unique arts space and this is the first musical performance in the venue. The pieces in the programme reflect the haunting acoustic of the space, using only voices and strings, and the concert will launch a series of arts events taking place at the space throughout the summer.

The concert will include three instrumental pieces by Gavin’s ensemble as well as three vocal works from the repertoire of Orlanda’s group Sonant Ensemble – two pieces of early music (by Victoria and Marenzio) and a new piece by the composer James Lindsay. The programme will feature a number of Gavin’s laude for voices and instruments (both ensembles together), ranging from a duet for soprano and bass (father and daughter) to a new work, Lauda 40, written specially for the occasion.

The concert will take place in the central alcove of the converted building beneath a hanging light installation, designed by Alsop himself.

Testbed1 is at 33 Parkgate Road SW11 4NP

£10 / £8 conc.

Tickets purchased on the door or in advance via:

The Battersea Arts Centre Box Office / 020 7223 2223

Show starts at 7.30pm / /


Further information and press tickets from



Bryars: Lauda Dolçe I (solo cello, electric guitar, double bass)                       

Bryars: Lauda 29 “O divina virgo, flore” (solo soprano and double bass)

Bryars: Laude 13 “Stomme Allegro” (soprano, tenor, GB ensemble                                   

Bryars: Laude 19 “Omne homo” (soprano, tenor, bass, GB ensemble)

Victoria: Magi viderunt stellam (Sonant ensemble)

Bryars: It Never Rains (GB ensemble)                                                                     

Marenzio: Tribus miraculis (Sonant Ensemble)                                   

James Lindsay Where  (Sonant Ensemble + Cressida Jenkins, soprano, and violin)

Bryars: Lauda 38 : Ben è crudele” (Sonant Ensemble + GB ensemble)

Bryars: The Flower of Friendship (GB ensemble)

Bryars: Lauda 28 “Amor dolce senza pare” (soprano, tenor + GB ensemble)

Bryars Lauda 40 “Madonna Santa Maria” (premiere) (Sonant Ensemble + GB ensemble)


Sonant Ensemble: Orlanda Bryars, soprano; James Cave, Alto; Robert Jenkins, Tenor; Robert Webb, Bass (+ Cressida Jenkins, soprano solo)

Gavin Bryars Ensemble: James Woodrow, electric guitar; Morgan Goff, viola; Nick Cooper, cello; Gavin Bryars, double bass

4Panorama Testbed

Gavin Bryars