(Milan Literary Festival June 2008)

Anna Maria Friman, soprano; John Potter, tenor
Morgan Goff, violas; Roger Heaton, bass clarinet; Gavin Bryars, double bass

Lauda 4 “Oi me lasso” (2002) soprano and tenor 4′
Lauda 29 “O divina virgo, flore” (2004) soprano, double bass 3′
Lauda 13 “Stomme allegro” (2003) soprano, tenor, ensemble 4′
Lauda 19 “Omne homo” (2003) soprano, tenor, double bass 3′
Lauda 36 “Gloria in cielo” (2008) (*Premiere) soprano, tenor, ensemble 5′
Lauda (col legno) I (2005) 5′ solo bass clarinet, viola, bass
from Nine Irish Madrigals (2006-7) soprano, tenor, viola, bass clarinet, double bass 12′
1. Laura being dead, Petrarch finds trouble in all the things of the earth
8. He sends his rhymes to the tomb of Laura to pray her to call him to her
3. He recalls his visions of her
Lauda 28 “Amor dolce sença pare” 2004 (soprano, tenor, ensemble) 5′

(Lauda 12 “Alta trinita beata”)
(Lauda 26 “Plangiamo quell crudel basciar”)

Gavin Bryars