GB at the Barbican


December 19, 2023


Silk St, Barbican, London EC2Y 8DS

Event Web Site:

A substantial concert to include a wide range of Gavin Bryars’ works. There are a number of special items here:

The Duets from Doctor Ox’s Experiment have only been performed once, in October 1998, shortly after the opera’s premiere in June 1998. David James, who sang in that performance, and in the opera, sings in this concert too. I worked with David for many years from my first work with the Hilliard Ensemble, Glorious Hill, in 1988 until their final concerts. The date of this concert, December 19th 2023, is exactly 50 years since the Hilliard’s first – December 19, 1973!!

And this is the first performance of the cello concerto in this country for many years…

Ramble on Cortona – Alexandra Tchernakova, solo piano; Morgan Goff, viola; James Woodrow, electric guitar; Nick Cooper, cello

Duets from Doctor Ox’s Experiment (UK Premiere)

Sarah Gabriel, soprano; David James, counter tenor; Large GB Ensemble; conductor David Wordsworth

Cello Concerto (Farewell to Philosophy)

Orchestra, soloist and conductor to be confirmed


After Handel’s Vesper

Mahan Esfahani, solo harpsichord

Jesus’ Blood Never Failed Me Yet

Gavin Bryars