Early works were published by Experimental Music Catalogue. This stopped trading in 1981, but is now run by Christopher Hobbs and Virginia Anderson. For information on these works contact

All Gavin Bryars’ music is now published by Schott Music, 48 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7BB

Works not published by Schott or EMC are marked with an asterisk (*) and are unavailable for performance.

NB. All Gavin Bryars’ manuscripts have been acquired by the British Library. These may be accessed through Dr. Nicolas Bell, Curator Music Collections, The British Library, 96 Euston Road, London NW1 2DB


There are a number of works, early attempts at composition and so on, some of which were performed. List in progress…

Three no. 2 “Visions” (Mss. In Notations Collection of John Cage)

Hoyu spoke no words (Mss. In Notations Collection of John Cage)

Three no. 7

16 Fragments for solo guitar


January 1, 1968

Gavin’s Notes:

Gavin Bryars